Iceland is Green

While poking around on the internet today, I learned that the Kardashians are in Iceland. Though I’m not the biggest fan of theirs, I must say I am of their latest travel destination.

Iceland was hands down one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever been to on the planet. It sort of makes you feel like you’re in a scene from Game of Thrones, while also reminding you of how incredibly beautiful the world is in its natural state. Though I didn’t see the northern lights because I went in the summer, there were still plenty of things to do and experience there! 

Here are my top five recommendations in case you plan on heading up North anytime soon!

  1. Reykjavik: Iceland’s capital city does not disappoint! The best way I can describe it is like a colorful old world Scandinavian fishing town…if that makes sense. The people are great, the food is amazing and the sites are incredible! Make sure to check out Hallgrímskirkja – the local Lutheran church. It’s absolutely gorgeous and you can go to the top and take in the city’s views! Some other activities the town offers are whale watching/ puffin tours and plenty of Viking museums!

IMG_3469.jpg            IMG_3481.jpg

2. Strokkur Geysir: Seeing a Geysir erupt is a really cool experience! Basically hot water (100ºC) shoots up out of the ground every 8-10 minutes, due to their location on top of a geothermal field! I can’t say I understand all of the science, but it was really cool to see!

IMG_3839.jpg

IMG_3896.jpg

3. Hot Springs: The Hot Springs in Iceland are amazing! Basically Hot Springs are naturally occurring pools of hot water due to Iceland’s geothermal activity. Many are open for the public to swim in…some are even attached to spas/ wellness centers. I had the most relaxing time swimming even though it was haling outside!  Getting to soak in a hot spring is an Icelandic must – relaxation at it’s finest that you’ll need after dealing with Icelandair (haha).

P.S. The steam was so intense it was hard to get a good photo without my phone giving up!

IMG_3588.jpg

4. Waterfalls: Not the most specific recommendation (I know), but I’m sure if you take a guided tour they’ll be sure to include some stops along a few of Iceland’s AMAZING waterfalls! When I was taking a “Golden Circle” tour, we stopped at about three different waterfalls each more breathtaking than the last! The views were incredible and really had a way of getting me back in touch with Mother Earth!

IMG_3959.jpg

IMG_3907.jpg

5. Thingvellir National Park: This park offers some amazing views as well! Get ready  to feel small, insignificant and perhaps as though you’re in Middle Earth, while marveling at what a beautiful place the world truly is! This park is also special because it offers views of the crest of the Mid-Atlantic Ridge (the only place you can see it above water)…geology lovers rejoice!

IMG_4031.jpg

IMG_4047.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

